On Good Friday, we launched our ninth annual Festival of Governance. As we continue to navigate the challenges of a world with limited resources, it is imperative that we prioritise effective and responsible governance practices to ensure that resources are allocated fairly and efficiently.

The principles of good governance are more important now than ever before. We must consider how we can effectively address issues of scarcity in our governance structures. With resources increasingly limited – the environment, finances, workforce and executive time – organisations must adopt innovative and sustainable practices to ensure long-term success.

Jane Davidson has kindly accepted the 2023 Good Governance Award in recognition of her dedication to environmental sustainability. Throughout her professional career, Jane has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to sustainable development, creating the Future Generations act in Wales, and working towards the One Planet Standard. Her unique approach to governance, focusing on evidence-based decision-making rather than rhetoric, has led to meaningful and lasting change, improving things step by step. Jane's tireless efforts in championing environmental sustainability serve as an inspiration to us all, and we are honoured to recognise her achievements with this prestigious award.

The centrepiece of the festival is the annual lecture, due to take place in late January 2024

Join us for a thought-provoking and insightful exploration of good governance because scarcity is real.

Please register your interest here to receive the full programme of Festival events.

Find out more

Thank you for including us in your Festival – we really enjoyed the sessions, especially the Allyship event."

Gary BatesClient Relationship Director, STEPS

Good governance award

Each year the Institute recognises the achievements that one person has made towards advancing good governance through the Good Governance Award.

This year's winner is Jane Davidson.

Previous winners of the award have included Baroness Helena Kennedy, Dame Janet Smith, Judge Mervyn King, Sir William Wells, Sir Liam Donaldson, Dame Julie Moore – on behalf of NHS managers, Dame Fiona Caldicott and Sir Michael Marmot.

These people have made the world a better and fairer place for everyone.

Find out more
Good governance award